Opinion

Editorials

Cartoons

Odd Bodkins: The Terrorist (Cartoon)

By Dan O'Neill
Saturday September 08, 2012 - 12:14:00 PM

Public Comment

Press Release: Berkeley City Council That Opposed Main Post Office Sale Holds First Public Meeting With Postal Service Representative

From Harvey Smith and Gray Brechin
Friday September 07, 2012 - 12:33:00 PM

The U.S. Postal Service, through its designated real estate agent CBRE, is conducting a fire sale of America’s historic and architecturally distinguished post offices. Built to the highest standards and with the finest materials, those buildings and the New Deal artworks they often contain are the anchor for many U.S. cities and towns. They were designed to educate those who used them and to inspire pride in a universal public service honestly and efficiently conducted, and they are often beloved community landmarks. Many are listed on the National Register of Historic Places. -more-


New: When in Rome...See How Well They Use Their Post Offices

By Antonio Rossmann
Monday September 10, 2012 - 08:15:00 PM

The four of us are here on sabbatical, the girls having just started school at St. Stephen's yesterday. Just before we left in August Gray Brechin brought our firm and the National Trust together to knock heads on the Berkeley Post Office threat. But rather than litigation, section 106 review, and the like, perhaps our Italian cousins offer a better solution. -more-


New: Berkeley Police Chief and City Manager Flip Flop on Police Department Agreements

By Gene Bernardi
Monday September 10, 2012 - 11:39:00 PM

The Berkeley Municipal Code requires that all terms and conditions of agreements with law enforcement agencies must be presented to the City Council in writing and copies of these agreements be made available to the public at least 10 days before the public hearing. THE HEARING IS SCHEDULED FOR THE TUESDAY SEPTEMBER 18, 2012, 7pm CITY COUNCIL MEETING UNDER ITEM 10a. -more-


Whatever Happened To "Republican Women for Choice"?

By Ron Lowe
Saturday September 08, 2012 - 02:47:00 PM

Republican convention time and what did I find at a yard sale, a campaign button for a group as extinct as the dinosaurs. A large red, white and blue, stars and strips button with NATIONAL REPUBLICAN COALITION FOR CHOICE on it. -more-


September Pepper Spray Times

By Grace Underpressure
Saturday September 08, 2012 - 05:44:00 PM

Editor's Note: The latest issue of the Pepper Spray Times is now available.

You can view it absolutely free of charge by clicking here . You can print it out to give to your friends.

Grace Underpressure has been producing it for many years now, even before the Berkeley Daily Planet started distributing it, most of the time without being paid, and now we'd like you to show your appreciation by using the button below to send her money. -more-


New: A Letter the Chronicle Didn't Publish:
PG&E Admits Nuclear Power Isn't Needed!

Monday September 10, 2012 - 11:41:00 PM

It is to be expected that PG&E and Southern Cal Edison would collectively oppose SB843 and AB1990 -- two promising renewable energy bills ("Big utilities fight solar legislation," August 28, 2012). Proponents argue that expanding the state's use of clean, unlimited solar power could generate 2 gigawatts of electricity or "roughly the equivalent of two nuclear reactors." -more-


Billionaire Arrogance: Gates, Broad and Public Schools

By Stephen Redmond
Friday September 07, 2012 - 12:32:00 PM

Bill Gates, Eli Broad—what do they have in common? Two things: money and arrogance. The very idea that because a person has so much money they should be permitted by any rational society to meddle in the education system is laughable and dumb. Mr. Gates never finished college and is relative uneducated in a formal sense. Mr Broad... well I don't know. But what I do know is that these 'uberrich' have little expertise or knowledge to improve our schools. -more-


An Open Letter to Jacquelyn McCormick and Adolpho Cabral;

By Norma J F Harrison
Saturday September 08, 2012 - 02:44:00 PM

Can you include in your work the need for Berkeley to continue its historical, renowned identification of our problems, not as the personal interest of the local big pooh-bahs, but as the structure of the system that controls what's done, now almost everywhere; enforcement of the power and profit system controlled by our Owners, the people who move the armies around the world to conquer lands and peoples?. These are not only the electeds. These are the people we don't see or know, our aristocracy, now internationally based. -more-